Bulb Planting!

Early spring is a great time to plant bulbs, so that was the first addition to my garden!

I planted Irises, Gladioli, Liatris, and Peonies, with a LOT of optimism….

(I mention below the embarrassing fate of last year’s bulbs)

Laurel Crowned_May092013 013

Three hours later, 84 holes were finally dug, 5-8 inches each deep.

.2013-05-10 13.57.55

Twine and dowels were used to outline neat rows

2013-05-10 14.03.57

Bulbs were planted in each hole, covered with dirt, and watered thoroughly

It was a little muddy, so I dressed accordingly…I figured my old college rain boots and a kitchen apron would do the trick

2013-05-10 13.40.53

Now I’m waiting patiently to see if I have any luck in getting the bulbs to grow!!

Last year I bought incredibly expensive Dahlia bulbs at a flower show, with the highest hopes of having a Dahlia garden to rival that of San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park:

Gorgeous right? And completely delusional. Once my Dahlia bulbs sprouted, I forgot to weed or water them for two weeks. Then I forgot where the bulbs were buried,  as they were engulfed by so many weeds. So I couldn’t even dig them up to save them for another year. See last year’s flower garden below (a tangled mess of Zinnias and weeds):

2011_4

Thinking I should be more realistic in my expectations this year, I opted to purchase cheap bulbs at Home Depot in case I fail miserably once again. I also staked each bulb so I won’t forget where they’re buried

So here’s Day 1 of the bulb experiment. Wish me luck in keeping them weeded and watered! I’ll keep you updated on their progress.

2013-05-10 15.03.10

Leave a comment